Take the MRCP (UK) test and qualify for speciality training
A specialized doctor

The Membership of the Royal Colleges of Physicians (MRCP UK) exam plays an essential role in the overall educational experience and continuing professional development of physicians in the UK. It is a pre-requisite for physicians wishing to undergo training in a medically-related speciality in the UK.

The MRCP is recognised as an entry qualification into higher specialist training for doctors wishing to become specialist registrars.

What does the MRCP exam involve?

The exam consists of three sections:

Part 1 consists of two three hour multiple-choice question papers covering knowledge and understanding of the clinical sciences.

Part 2 consists of three three hour multiple-choice question papers covering diagnosis, investigation, management and prognosis of patients.

Part 3 Clinical Examination (PACES) involves a series of five clinical stations, each assessed by two independent examiners.

In the UK the exam is usually taken during the two year period of general professional training (GPT) in medicine after you have registered with the UK General Medical Council.

How to register

You need to apply online at the MRCP (UK) website. To find out how, visit MRCP’s Online Examination Services.

You must then contact the British Council who will administer the exam at one of our Sri Lankan centres. 

MRCP(UK) Written Examinations scheduled for 2019 in Sri Lanka - Colombo

MRCP(UK) Part 1 Written Examination

Diet Examination date Application period - these are now 2 weeks
Opening date                                                                                      Closing date
2019/1 Tuesday 8 January 2019 Monday 8 October 2018 Sunday 21 October 2018
2019/2 Wednesday 8 May 2019 Monday 4 February 2019 Sunday 17 February 2019
2019/3 Tuesday 3 September 2019 Monday 3 June 2019 Sunday 16 June 2019

MRCP(UK) Part 2 Written Examination

Diet Examination date Application period - these are now 2 weeks
Opening date                                                                                      Closing date
2019/1 Tuesday 26 March 2019 Monday 7 January 2019 Sunday 20 January 2019
2019/2 Tuesday 2 July 2019 Monday 15 April 2019 Sunday 28 April 2019
2019/3 Tuesday 22 October 2019 Monday 19 August 2019 Sunday 1 September 2019

Exam locations and cost

For dates and examinations fees, please visit MRCP website for more information on Part 1 and Part 2

You can take MRCP with the British Council, just get in touch with us to find out how

External links