Test dates, fees and locations

Sri Lanka IELTS exam centre map

The British Council offers IELTS tests in eight locations across Sri Lanka and the Maldives. All registrations are handled by the British Council in Sri Lanka and the Maldives.

Places are assigned on a first-come, first-served basis, so we strongly recommend that you register online at least two months prior to the test date. Please note, once all the test places have been assigned and the session is full, the test will no longer appear on our online registration system.

You will receive an email one week before the test date confirming the venue for your test and the speaking test timetable with the exception for the candidates who will be sitting for the test at the Kandy centre. Kandy centre will inform you of your speaking test timetable at the registration time. 

Please check for availability on our online registration system.   

VENUE INFORMATION

The confirmed venue details will be provided to you one week before via email. 

For information requests, please contact the British Council.

FEES

The cost of sitting a test is Rs. 19200 (Sri Lanka exams) and MVR 2850 (Maldives exams). You can pay for your test in one of the following ways:

i)  With a cheque made payable to 'British Council'.

ii) In person at the British Council Colombo or Kandy customer services desk. If you want to pay in person, we accept:

  • Cash (the exact amount only)
  • Credit card

Find out the opening hours for our branches.

iii)  Via a bank transfer

Please find below our bank details in order to make the payment

Bank name: HSBC
Account name: British Council Sri Lanka
Account number: 001-002377-002

Locate your nearest HSBC branch

  • In the REFERENCE section of your payment please write: IELTS, Candidate's full name e.g. IELTS, Prabath Jayasuriya.
  • Once you have made the payment, please send us the bank transfer receipt with the rest of your registration documents.

Available tests

Colombo

Date of Exam Module Registration Deadline Date
Saturday 06 September 2014 IELTS Academic Saturday 30 August 2014
Saturday 06 September 2014 IELTS General Training Saturday 30 August 2014
Saturday 20 September 2014 IELTS Academic Monday 15 September 2014
Saturday 20 September 2014 IELTS General Training Monday 15 September 2014
Saturday 27 September 2014 IELTS Academic Saturday 20 September 2014
Thursday 02 October 2014 IELTS Academic Friday 26 September 2014
Thursday 02 October 2014 IELTS General Training Friday 26 September 2014
Saturday 18 October 2014 IELTS Academic Monday 13 October 2014
Saturday 18 October 2014 IELTS General Training Monday 13 October 2014
Saturday 25 October 2014 IELTS Academic Monday 20 October 2014
Saturday 01 November 2014 IELTS Academic Monday 27 October 2014
Saturday 01 November 2014 IELTS General Training Monday 27 October 2014
Thursday 13 November 2014 IELTS Academic Thursday 06 November 2014
Saturday 22 November 2014 IELTS Academic Monday 17 November 2014
Saturday 22 November 2014 IELTS General Training Monday 17 November 2014
Saturday 06 December 2014 IELTS Academic Saturday 01 November 2014
Saturday 06 December 2014 IELTS General Training Saturday 01 November 2014
Saturday 13 December 2014 IELTS Academic Saturday 06 December 2014
Saturday 13 December 2014 IELTS General Training Saturday 06 December 2014

Jaffna

Date of Exam Module Registration Deadline Date
Saturday 22 November 2014 IELTS Academic Saturday 15 November 2014
Saturday 22 November 2014 IELTS General Training Saturday 15 November 2014

Kandy

Date of Exam Module Registration Deadline Date
Saturday 06 September 2014 IELTS Academic Wednesday 27 August 2014
Saturday 06 September 2014 IELTS General Training Wednesday 27 August 2014
Saturday 20 September 2014 IELTS Academic Wednesday 10 September 2014
Saturday 20 September 2014 IELTS General Training Wednesday 10 September 2014
Thursday 02 October 2014 IELTS Academic Monday 22 September 2014
Thursday 02 October 2014 IELTS General Training Monday 22 September 2014
Saturday 18 October 2014 IELTS Academic Wednesday 08 October 2014
Saturday 18 October 2014 IELTS General Training Wednesday 08 October 2014
Saturday 01 November 2014 IELTS Academic Wednesday 22 October 2014
Saturday 01 November 2014 IELTS General Training Wednesday 22 October 2014
Saturday 22 November 2014 IELTS Academic Wednesday 12 November 2014
Saturday 22 November 2014 IELTS General Training Wednesday 12 November 2014
Saturday 06 December 2014 IELTS Academic Wednesday 26 November 2014
Saturday 06 December 2014 IELTS General Training Wednesday 26 November 2014
Saturday 13 December 2014 IELTS Academic Wednesday 03 December 2014
Saturday 13 December 2014 IELTS General Training Wednesday 03 December 2014

Matara

Date of Exam Module Registration Deadline Date
Saturday 13 December 2014 IELTS Academic Saturday 06 December 2014
Saturday 13 December 2014 IELTS General Training Saturday 06 December 2014